Daily Scripture Meditation

Adulterers and adulteresses! Do you not know that friendship with the world is enmity with God? Whoever therefore wants to be a friend of of the world makes himself and enemy of God. -James 4:4 NKJV

It would seem to me that we have largely forgotten that the Gospel is incompatible with the rest of the world. When we take on worldly behaviors or give in to worldly thoughts and activities we are moving away from God in doing so. We cannot continue in the normal, day to day activities of everyone else around us, as Christians, and please God.

Christian worship is rebellion against the world and all of its wicked ways. When we give our lives in worship each and every day, we press in to obedience to God and rebellion to this world.

We need to stop more often and ask ourselves questions like: Is my life to compatible with the lifestyle and culture I find myself in? Does the behavior of the world around me bother me, or have I become comfortable with it? Do I stand out from the world around me, or have I become so like the world that no one can tell the difference?

We are called to be set apart to holy behavior before a holy God, this requires that we reject sinful influences and patterns in our lives. While the rejection of sin is a daily battle, it is one that we ought to win more and more as we fight it and in so doing make it clear before the world that we serve a different king, Jesus!

Leave a Reply

