Take the Gap

When the dark tide seems ever rising,
And evil closes in,
When the orphan goes hungry,
And the fatherless is killed before she’s born,
When the earth is being destroyed before us,
The mountains hacked down and streams corrupted,
When the soil fails,
And we turn to chemicals for food,
When the just ones pollute themselves with the blood of the innocent,
And celebrate endless war,
When the nation turns away from her God,
And faces instead His fiery wrath,
Then will I pray:

This day by Thine grace and power,
I place myself between the oppressed and the oppressor,
Upheld by the three who are one,
I will stand between the helpless and the darkness,
When the gap stands gaping open and the destroyers come pouring through,
I will place myself in the gap,
And by Your Hand overcome,
You are able to make your servants stand,
Therefore I will not be polluted with innocent blood,
You will have your glory,
Therefore I will shine out as a light in the midst of the darkness,
Some will see no evil,
Some will hear no evil,
Some will even speak no evil,
But by the Power that flung the stars in space,
I will allow no evil,
If you aren’t a part of His solution,
You are probably a part of the problem.

Lady liberty bleeds out,
Slowly wounded and abused rather than attacked right out,
Yet the nation prides itself on freedom,
And doesn’t realize it’s in chains,
Chains slowly forged by giving liberty away,
The rich oppress the poor,
The poor rob those who might help them,
All this we’ve made lawful,
And in so doing become lawless,
There is wickedness in high places,
Yet the nation still places its hope in rulers,
Instead of in the the One who rules all, is all, made all,
The blood of the unborn cries out for justice,
The earth moans under the weight of our abuse,
The very food we eat speaks against us,
In such times I will pray,

Today, through your love and blood,
Shield me from the guilt of sin,
Teach me to walk guiltless before you,
Then I will take my stand,
Unashamed before you,
I will, by your power, place myself,
Between the innocent and the wicked,
To be a force for you upon the earth,
To hold back the tide of wickedness from your remnant,
When the courage of men falters,
I will rise in your might,
For the battle belongs to The Lord.

Leave a Reply

